INTRO. CHRONICLES. SOCIETIES. PARISH. VILLAGE. CHURCH. PEOPLE.

A History of YALDING, Kent, England


LADDINGFORD OUTING CLUB.
In 1913 a very successful trip was organised to Herne Bay, such that the Laddingford men decided to form an Outing Club. Mr W D Reeve was made Hon. Secretary, and Mr F Perkins Treasurer and organiser. For 1914, Saturday June 27th was the chosen date and Brighton the venue. Two saloon cars with 64 members, left at 7.30am in splendid weather. The first halt was at Crowborough, and then onto Lewis, when after a look at this town they continued on their journey and reached Brighton at 11 am. Each went `their own sweet way' until 4 pm when they met together at the Bath Hotel for tea. At 5.30 they started back, stopping at Uckfield for a brief look round, then on to Tunbridge Wells where they stayed an hour, finally arriving home at 9.15 pm, having enjoyed a remarkably pleasant day. Quite a journey on hard tyres and very little suspension.
No more records of any further such excursions have been found, but photographs exist of charabancs on the front at Brighton, with Laddingford residents having arrived or returning from taking the sea air. These vehicles had long low bodies, solid tyres, and a hood that folded down over the back, quite an experience on the long journey through Sussex and over the South Downs.